Buddy – Harlan & Alondra (Deluxe)

The original release of 2018’s Harlan & Alondra was a moment for Buddy, the Compton MC and vocalist whose earliest claim to fame was as Pharrell’s teenage rapping protégé. The deluxe version of Harlan & Alondra expands the original by four songs, all of which are squarely on-brand with the hazy Los Angeles funk that landed the album on a number of year-end lists. “Cubicle” allows incarcerated Watts gangsta rapper 03 Greedo to take off his armor and ruminate on one of Buddy’s favorite topics-the unique experience of growing up in one of LA’s hoods. “It’s Love” is scuzzy disco, Buddy deeply in his bag, singing about the endless joys of having someone. “Link Up,” featuring Kent Jamz, Bas, Guapdad 4000, and J.I.D, boasts all of the “let me hold the mic” fellowship of a Tribe Called Quest posse cut. “Bad Attitude” rounds out the foursome, with Buddy taking a minute to remind everyone that the Compton that lives in gangsta rap infamy is indeed the very same Compton he hails from.

01. Real Life Shit
02. Shameless feat. Guapdad 4000
03. Black feat. A$AP Ferg
04. Hey Up There feat. Ty Dolla $ign
05. Legend
06. Trouble On Central
07. The Blue feat. Snoop Dogg
08. Speechless
09. Young
10. Trippin’ feat. Khalid
11. Find Me 2
12. Shine
13. Cubicle feat. 03 Greedo
14. It’s Love
15. Link Up feat. Kent Jamz, Guapdad 4000, Bas & J.I.D
16. Bad Attitude

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

You may also like...